A raft of former Liberal politicians and staffers have secured new government appointments.

The government has appointed judges, board members and new heads of organisations, including former NSW Liberal minister Don Harwin to a three-year term on the Australia Council Board.

Mr Harwin made headlines after being fined $1,000 and standing down as a minister after he visited his holiday house during COVID-19 lockdowns.

The government has appointed new people to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT), which reviews decisions made by government ministers and departments under Commonwealth laws. These include matters of citizenship, child support and the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

Attorney-General Michaelia Cash has appointed former WA Liberal state state politician Michael Mischin as deputy president of the AAT, where he will be paid almost $500,000 a year.

Former NSW Liberal minister Pru Goward and Anne Duffield, a former chief of staff to Prime Minister Scott Morrison, are to become senior AAT members, earning almost $400,000 a year.

Senator Cash has also appointed five people to the Federal Circuit and Family Court, four of whom are women, taking the court to majority female judges.

Additionally, Tina Arena has been reappointed to another term on the arts and culture board.